I’m Watching the Stanley Cup Playoffs… Sigh!

This world is so screwed up

Dave Volek

--

Photo by Tim Trad on Unsplash

My Edmonton Oilers have tied the series with the Dallas Stars. Two wins each. The team that wins two more games advances to the Stanley Cup finals. It has been 30 years since a Canadian team won the Stanley Cup.

The year 2004 was my last time that I watched much professional hockey. The Calgary Flames were contenders for the Stanley Cup. I watched every playoff game. They lost Game 7 of the last round. They came so close to bringing honor and glory and happiness to Calgary and Alberta.

I asked a biology-inclined friend why I got so hooked on a recreational activity that I had not spent much time on before.

He said, “Endorphins!”

Basically, when we emotionally attach ourselves to a sports team, we set our body up for all sorts of chemical reactions. We get highs. We get lows. We like the momentary times of happiness.

I live in Brooks, Alberta. Calgary is only 200 km away. It was easy to attach myself to this team in 2004.

I lived 12 years in Edmonton. And it is only 500 km away. Again, it is easy for me to make this attachment in 2024. While the Edmonton Oilers seem to have addicted me to their side, I have noticed my highs and lows are not so high and low as they were 20…

--

--

Dave Volek

Dave Volek is the inventor of “Tiered Democratic Governance”. Let’s get rid of all political parties! Visit http://www.tiereddemocraticgovernance.org/tdg.php